Student Log In
33 Years of Success!

Tel: +44 161 819 9922

Student Only Flash Fiction and Poetry Competition
Free To Enter
closing date 31st March 2019

Prizes Winner of Flash Fiction - £50 plus a WB Course of the winner’s choice.

Winner of Poetry - £50 plus a WB Course of the winner’s choice.

The top thirty entries to be published in The Writers Bureau 30th Anniversary Anthology. Everyone chosen for the anthology will receive a complimentary copy and have the opportunity to buy more discounted copies for relatives. The Anthology will be available for free on Kindle or to buy hard copies on Amazon.

Rules of Entry

Please read the following rules carefully before submitting your entry.

1. Poems must not exceed 40 lines and must be typed (single spacing is acceptable). Short stories must not exceed 500 words (not including the title) and must be typed using double spacing.

2. All work must be in English and you can enter as many as you like.

3. For postal entries, each story or poem should start on a separate sheet of paper.

4. Work may be on any theme but should not have been previously published.

5. No competitor may win more than one prize.

6. The author’s name must not appear on any work but should be attached on a separate sheet of paper (postal entries) or in the body of the email (email entries).

7. Copyright remains with the author but prize winners must give permission to have the work published in The Writers Bureau’s 30th Anniversary Anthology.

8. Entries cannot be returned to contestants; so please keep a copy.

9. Receipt of entries will only be acknowledged if accompanied by a stamped, self-addressed postcard. Results will be available on the Writers Bureau website from 15th May 2019. Winners will be notified individually.

10. Entries that do not comply with the rules will be disqualified.

11. Only students, past and present, of The Writers Bureau may enter. Please make sure your student number is on your entry form. Please contact if you have mislaid your student number.

12. The Judges will be Susie Busby, Principal and Diana Nadin, Director of Studies.

How to Enter

The address for postal entries is:

30th Anniversary Student Competition
The Writers Bureau
8-10 Dutton Street
Manchester M3 1LE

Send email entries to:

The writer’s name, student number, address and telephone number should not appear on the entry but in the body of the email or on a separate piece of paper if sending by post. Type ‘30th Anniversary Competition’ in the subject line. Attach your entry, saved as a Rich Text File (.rtf), to your email. Do not include your name or student number in the attachment.