Student Log In
30 Years of Success!

Tel: +44 161 819 9922

30th Anniversary Student Competition

All these poems and stories will be included in our
30th Anniversary Anthology to be published later this year.

Congratulations to those chosen and to the winners in each category.


Winner – Peter Jackson – Portrait

Aileen Shirra – Funeral

Alan Wiggins – Hitch Hiking Lads

Alex Kashko – Devil Man Blues

Angela Ness – Hi-Pop

Ann Williams – Parcel

Ann-Marie Corner – Protean Thought’s

Cosmo Goldsmith – Woman in Pony Trap

Robert Frederick Tatlow – Leaping, Exploding Sunshine

Helen Gaen – Terminal

Liz Goulds – Cherry, Lola and I

Lorenza Cangiano – Transmutation of The Soul

Madeline Marshall – The Clairvoyant

Sue Ross – Just Chillin'

Tracey Kitchen – A Celebration of Creation


Short Story

Winner – Amber Phillips – Big Freeze

Aileen Shirra – They Also Serve

Alan Wiggins – Early Doors

Amanda Jane Davies – Flying Snakes and Sandwiches

Carol Steel – The Importance of Rout Planning

Gillian Sinclair – A Star Is Born

Grace Dodridge – Pathological Liar

Jacob Rath – Long Face

Jane Brydon – Sheltered Love

Janice Tyler – The Redemption Bell

Julie Spruce – Scout

Karen Murdarasi – The Curse is Come Upon Me

Pippa Longley – The Funniest Thing

Susan Rocks – A Better Life

Susan Seligson – If Music Be The Food Of Love

Sarah Plater Writers Bureau's Writer of the Year 2017

“I’m currently working on my fourth book, have been paid for my writing by at least 15 different magazines, and now earn half my income from writing – all thanks to The Writers Bureau’s course."

Sarah Plater - Writers Bureau Writer of the Year 2017

Free Creative Writing Course Prospectus

Subscribe to Receive Writing Tips
and Special Offers
First Name:
Last Name:
E-Mail Address:
Privacy Statement


Institute of Training and Occupational Learning

Bookmark and Share