Student Log In
33 Years of Success!

Tel: +44 161 819 9922

Forum Home :: Help with assignments - stuck?

Back

Assignment 6 Travel

Neil R - January 24, 2021 writes:

As a new student I am finding this area invaluable. I got some great advice on my first post and have subscribed to Readly. It’s opened me up to lots of new magazine titles. Just wanted some help with the travel piece. I have spent a while looking at the magazines but it seems the main openings for freelance writers are very short reviews. Is that the right way to go with this assignment? Didn’t want to do something too short but at the same time I want to be realistic in what has the best chance of getting published. Any help is much appreciated.
Comments

Scott S - January 25, 2021 replied:

Hi Neil. This assignment gave me some trouble too, and I know a few others have struggled with it recently, particularly because we couldn't go anywhere.

I completed this assignment during the first lockdown here in the UK and decided to tackle it from a historical point of view.

The article looked at one of my favourite places, showed the history of the area, and what is used for now including what facilities are available for tourists.

The article received good praise from my tutor, but was not accepted by the magazine. And, I will confess to not trying to have it published again as I moved on to other works.

I didn't have much luck with dedicated travel magazines, but you will find many others that have pieces about interesting locations their readers have been to.

I hope this helps. Perhaps others might have more of an insight.

Also, if you use WhatsApp on your phone, a great group of us are there chatting and sharing experiences. We are also starting online group events on skype.

If you would be interested in joining please let me know on the email scottsmythwriting@hotmail.com

Good luck with the assignment.

Neil R - January 25, 2021 replied: